"Gardening doesn't take a green thumb, it takes a dirty thumb" - Elva Berry

“Gardening doesn’t take a green thumb, it takes a dirty thumb” – Elva Berry

Today in the garden, I could hear my mom’s voice echoing “gardening doesn’t take a green thumb, it takes a dirty thumb.”  I have vivid images of her gardening in the rain and in the cold – I thought she was a bit crazy, but now I know it takes an intimate knowledge of plants in all conditions to be a good gardener.

Gardening takes an appreciation of “inconvenient” weather because you know it will benefit your plants. It takes either a good memory or well-taken notes on how and where plants grow – though most herbs need very little assistance with doing what they do naturally.  Most of all, it takes a curiosity about Nature, a sense of wonder about plants and a child-like joy when playing in the dirt.

